RSS Feed

Daily Archives: August 12, 2013

Recap of an Exhausting Day

Posted on

I cannot tell a lie. I had entertained thoughts of not writing today. I made excuses in my head, respectfully, apologetically rehearsed excuses – I couldn’t write today, I had to take my kids to the doctor by myself. I am exhausted. I just spent the last two hours with an upset five month old, jostling, humming, trying to feed a bottle (with tylenol in it) unsuccessfully. They’re excuses but they’re also the truth. I am exhausted. It did take me nearly two hours to get my baby girl to finally drift off to a hopefully peaceful slumber.

But even as I thought of not writing, I kicked myself into gear. I opened up WordPress dutifully. Scanned my ‘blog reader’ that has all the latest posts from the blogs I subscribe to neatly filed by date and time. Looked in surprise at the statistics of The Plucky Parent. And opened up a new post window.

Even as exhausted as I am, some eight people took the time today to look in on little old me. The least I can do in return is write something. I may even do a desperate little doodle before bed.

You see, it really has been an awfully long day. It started this morning at 6 am when Gordon left. Because of this god awful humidity that has suddenly struck the eastern middle Tennessee our already sticky door stuck a little more. Which woke Emma. Which meant a frantic run to the fridge for the bottle because the person who usually takes care of it for me while I change Emma’s diaper had just left. Once she was fed she thankfully went back to sleep and I was able to momentarily debate what I needed to do. I lay in bed for a few moments, checked out a few web comics, checked my email, then kicked myself into gear. After all, there was still the diaper bags to pack, the strollers in the back of my car to unload, the double stroller to pack, breakfast to make, etc etc.

I decided to tackle the double stroller first. I reasoned I could probably drag it off the back porch, around the garage, and into the car – but then remembered my broken toe and lack of shoes. Probably not the best idea to go traipsing through thick, dew slick grass while carrying a heavy object, I reasoned. Then I decided to try and manually open the garage door. Note to anyone who does this: there’s a nifty handle at the bottom in the center of the door but be sure to unlock the door first. Otherwise you just attempt to throw out your shoulder. And really, who wants to do that at 6:30 in the morning? Garage door opened, I unlocked my car, unloaded the two strollers in the back and loaded in the double stroller. One problem solved.

Read the rest of this entry