RSS Feed

Daily Archives: September 9, 2013

AAA (No. 11): Blast From the Past

Posted on

This is from August 21st. I decided to go in search of some of my old art supplies (from pre-baby and pre-marriage) in the boxes my delivered over the weekend and this is what I came across:

20130901-195124.jpg

That’s markers, crayons, pastels, oil paints, acrylic paints, graphite sticks, drawing pencils (the ones that have a different lead intensity, for lack of a better term). Then of course there’s sketch pads, construction paper, watercolor paper, a few small canvases, and the likes. And among all of that was this:

20130901-195154.jpg

Pieces of my work from high school that I didn’t have the heart to throw away. A lot of it was just simple pencil sketches and shading, a few items were concept works, some my playing with colored pencils. And if that weren’t enough, I also came across these (NSFW):

Read the rest of this entry

AAA (No. 10): Doctor Who Watercolors

Posted on

This is from August 19th, a few quick Doctor Who themed pieces that I sent with some ‘happy mail’ to a fellow Whovian.

What Medium: Cardstock, watercolor paints, paint brush, water

Estimated Time: A few minutes per piece of paper, mostly just spent an hour relaxing

Title: TARDIS and Don’t Blink

411

414

416

As I mentioned I did these really quickly for a sort of ‘happy mail’ swap on Swap-bot.com. My partner happened to be a fellow Doctor Who fan (or Whovian) and I decided to see how hard it would be to paint the TARDIS, then got rather ambitious and tried to do a Weeping Angel. The details were meant to be blurred, just a quick thing, but I knew I could do better so once the paper finished drying I took a pen to it. I think it turned out really well and the woman who received them told me that she loves them and has them hanging up next to her desk. I’m glad my art was able to make someone else’s day!

Part of Katelikestocreate’s Amateur Art in August over at Laptop on the Ironing Board. For more of my Amateur Art in August pieces, click here.