RSS Feed

AAA (No. 14): My Heart Watercolor

Posted on

 

This was my art piece for August 28th.

What Medium: Watercolor paper, watercolor paints, paintbrush

 

Estimated Time: A few hours, broken up throughout the day

 

Title: My Heart

20130903-135832.jpg

20130903-135853.jpg

20130903-135910.jpg

20130903-135927.jpg

 

This piece is still largely unfinished, mainly because I can’t decide what to do on the left hand side of the picture. Gordon maintains that it doesn’t really need anything else but I think it just looks… empty. There was a suggestion from a friend of mine that I should perhaps do some sunbeams or something but I’m still trying to work it out in my head. I don’t want to put more flowers because if I did, it would look very… Christmas-y. I don’t want it to have that feel. I want it to have an every day feel!

Anyways, as I mentioned in my last post, the flowers in this picture are from this vine that grows along our walkway. By this time I had actually found a good portion of this vine growing along our gate and had to, regretfully, prune the vine back some because it was trying to cover the gate. I think we plan on getting a trellis up next year for the vine to attach itself to. Perhaps then it won’t try and attach itself to my gate!

The saying just came to me while I was painting another watercolor doodle. Painting, for reasons unknown, makes me exceptionally happy. And apparently really sappy. I had my toddler running around the table kicking a ball and my infant playing in her chair with her toys and I was just – full. My heart was full. My mind was full. Everything just felt full and right with the world. So I attempted to put that full-ness on paper and came up with “You are my heart, my child. I can’t help but love you.” I’m sure it could have religious meaning but as I am not particularly religious, to me it doesn’t. And it isn’t specific to moms who actually gave birth to their children either – which is another thing I love about this. It could be for adopted families too!

I just wanted to share this little bit of sunshine with you 🙂 Thanks again to Katelikestocreate over at the Laptop on the Ironing Board for starting up Amateur Art in August! Were it not for her I wouldn’t have rediscovered my overwhelming love to paint. For a complete list of my AAA pieces, please click here!

One response »

  1. I love this! I’m probably too late to make suggestions, but maybe some insects?

    Reply

Please feel free to leave a reply!